Reactivating Facebook after years of Social Media Sobriety

So for some context; I am 25 years old and I opened my facebook account in 2008 – when I was 17. So while that is relatively old in today’s era (I am looking at you, my young nieces and nephews with the latest Iphones and Ipads), I had it for a large chunk of time until I decided to deactivate it a few years ago. Why? My career wasn’t moving ahead, I was depressed and social media made it more so. It took some teeth clenching to reactivate the account even now but I got there in the end.

Now I took my sweet time scrolling through the pages and here are some observations and thoughts that occurred to me. Can you relate?

  • I talked like a fucking idiot
  • Incredible narcissism on my part
  • Most of the people on Facebook I couldn’t even stand
  • Wondering how I had 160 friends when I struggle to upkeep a single relationship today
  • Wait a second…am I old?
  • Should I grow my hair back?
  • Because most people have by now also deactivated their accounts, the conversations I had with them on the site makes it look like I am talking to myself
  • I had completely different priorities (none)
  • I’ve lost touch with so many
  • Tried too hard to be philosophical when quoting rap lyrics
  • I had longwinded conversations with people whose existence I don’t remember
  • The people that mattered then are still in my life today
  • I updated my statuses regardless of likes
  • The same person liked my updates all the time – respect the loyalty
  • I was called ‘smexcci bitch’ and I had nothing sarcastic to say about it
  • I don’t think your body is equipped to cringe so often
  • The only good thing facebook does is making you feel popular on your birthday
  • So many people got married
  • So many babies
  • Why did I post this?
  • And this?
  • Or this?!
  • The dual life of having deep conversations with someone online and ignoring and getting ignored by them at school
  • I didn’t realise I’ve met so many people in my life
  • I spent a lot of time procrastinating and apparently had to let everyone know about it
  • I had some unfortunate situations of -not logging out of my account and having fart jokes written about me-
  • I actually school a little
  • I think I was a hell of a lot more social back then
  • Am I difficult to get on with now?
  • Give me a break, I’m just stuck in my ways
  • Club promoters were and still are annoying, online and face to face
  • Apparently, I was an animal rights activist
  • And a Harlem shake activist – remember that one?
  • For some reason, my friend decided to share parts of her coursework on my facebook wall
  • I struggled with 500-word essays…what?
  • I wrote eight status updates about going to Germany
  • I was having a hard time during results day ( no reminders needed for that one)
  • I’ve had the same mobile number for at least 6 years!
  • I thought I was funny, some things don’t change

If you enjoyed please subscribe and like for more silly rants and first world problems!

2 thoughts on “Reactivating Facebook after years of Social Media Sobriety

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

2catspluskids

A novelist storytelling the train of thought

What Living Taught Me

Observing makes me curious and curiosity makes me a Learner. This Blog Admires Motivation

The Insomnian (Jayren Fryn)

When it's spoken it can be timeless- The written word is Immortality

Just-in-general

Be inspired. Be you.

Life On Planet Earth

Exist.Explore.Enjoy.

TheGirlOnTheGo's Blog

Exploring all perspectives in a blogosphere! :)

The Krystol Method

Writings By Krystol

Darwinian Mystics: Book of the North

The mind is a powerful thing.

Fitness & health

Marina Vončina

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Bianca D. Spencer

Food for thought fiction

Jean Genie

Let yourself goooo!

Pankaj Giri

An author by chance

Thought trail

Trail of stories, poems, observations and more!

