Make and take your small wins

My day started off as any other today. I woke up, hit the gym (I’m lying) and got home to start looking for a key my mum lost a while ago. It’s a key to a little jewellery box that she needs open by Saturday which is tomorrow for a wedding. Somehow I have managed to become incredibly gifted in finding lost stuff for other people, never my own.

So I’m lying flat on my stomach trying to find a 2-inch item. Then a thought strikes me. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always wanted to try lock picking. No, not in an ‘I want to rob you’ way, not even in an ‘I want to show off to my mates’ way. Just in an ‘I’m James bond’ way.

Back then as a kid, I didn’t have access to the internet, I’m a 90s kid, sue me. So I googled ‘pick lock with paperclip’ because that’s all this James bond has lying around at home. I found a Plier and started messing around bending the paper clips as instructed in the YouTube videos and after cleanly snapping two in half, I had my tools.

I won’t bore you with the exact instructions but I followed them as best as I could and I was so very excited. Fast forward 45 minutes and I’m slowly starting to get frustrated. But still, I’m glued to that stupid box promising myself that I won’t take my shower until I get this box open. After a while, I actually decided to listen to all the instructions rather than listening to the first few minutes and then just wrenching those paperclips in and out like a retard. I finally understood the mechanism of how a normal lock and key works and when I finally heard the little ‘click’ and found my paperclip turning the cylinder clockwise I was euphoric.

There is a lesson in this, I swear. The lesson is this; life might not be moving at the pace you want it to but you can take steps to make each day a win. It means you have to be pro-active and you have to create little goals for yourself; cooking a certain dish, drawing something, writing a terrible poem or even fulfilling childhood dreams. The one thing that free time (or your first year at Uni) gifts you with is time.

It turned out however that the jewellery that my mum needed wasn’t in the box after all but that’s beside the point, although this means me going back to the BB days (Before Bond) and looking for the key manually once again. I’m sure Bond once lost something too and was on all fours searching for it so technically it might be Bond-ish after all.

 

6 thoughts on “Make and take your small wins

Add yours

  1. You are goals. At one point I started to amass a collection of books and articles on the art of pick pocketing/murder methods/decomposition of bodies, etc. My search history remains cleared.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re too kind, thank you. Haha hey, your browser history is no one’s business but yours (apart from the FBI maybe, in your case). I’m glad you felt comfortable enough to divulge that information to me though – colour me flattered.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I only became truly concerned about the FBI when I started researching the type of powder people use to blow things up (COMPLETELY book-related, I promise. One of my characters has to dispose of an inconvenient wall). Learning how to pick a lock is on my bucket list. Right up there with touring the world (which ain’t gonna happen anytime soon because I have, like, three dollars).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yesshh I think you’re definitely on some list by now, but I will totally buy your book excuse so I don’t feel paranoid to be linked to you by association. Hey, I had three pounds but now, since brexit, I’m guessing it’s worth less than even your three dollars. Don’t feel bad, it’ll happen. If not you can always work on those browser history things in the meantime… disposing of a body sounds mildly interesting?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

2catspluskids

A novelist storytelling the train of thought

What Living Taught Me

Observing makes me curious and curiosity makes me a Learner. This Blog Admires Motivation

The Insomnian (Jayren Fryn)

When it's spoken it can be timeless- The written word is Immortality

Just-in-general

Be inspired. Be you.

Life On Planet Earth

Exist.Explore.Enjoy.

TheGirlOnTheGo's Blog

Exploring all perspectives in a blogosphere! :)

The Krystol Method

Writings By Krystol

Darwinian Mystics: Book of the North

The mind is a powerful thing.

Fitness & health

Marina Vončina

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Bianca D. Spencer

Food for thought fiction

Jean Genie

Let yourself goooo!

Pankaj Giri

An author by chance

Thought trail

Trail of stories, poems, observations and more!

