Dumb conversations

I am a vegetarian. Relax, not a militant one, a quiet one who’d rather not bring it up unless asked twice why I’m not having anything from the meat platter.

The following is based on an actual conversation I had with my office buddy; a proud (wait for it) vegephobe. Bring the hate people – this is discrimination at its finest.

Max doesn’t have any dietary restrictions and clearly struggles to connect with my freely chosen ones – I do too when I am faced with chicken nuggets which is when I start to question all of my decisions I’ve ever made.

In an effort to connect with me and find some kind of conversational starter based on this new revelation, he came out with the question:

‘wh…what’s your favourite vegetable’?

Yes, we’re adults, working in an office and we all sit on swivel chairs.

I appreciate the effort so I think about it, earnestly.

Me: ‘…Aubergines…’

Max: ‘Okay’

Me: ‘And courgettes’

Max: ‘Don’t they taste kind of the same?’

Me: ‘Yeah, maybe…what’s your favourite vegetable Max?’

Max: ‘I don’t eat vegetables, I am a veg.. I’m a vegephobe!’

Max: ‘…I do like Spinach’

Me: ‘That’s pretty healthy’

Max: ‘Yeah’

Shoutout to Maximilian Schwerdtfeger, the reason this terrible small talk happened, which entertained me enough to transcribe it here. I have a lot of dumb conversations and only to realise that in retrospection.

 

2 thoughts on “Dumb conversations

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

2catspluskids

A novelist storytelling the train of thought

What Living Taught Me

Observing makes me curious and curiosity makes me a Learner. This Blog Admires Motivation

The Insomnian (Jayren Fryn)

When it's spoken it can be timeless- The written word is Immortality

Just-in-general

Be inspired. Be you.

Life On Planet Earth

Exist.Explore.Enjoy.

TheGirlOnTheGo's Blog

Exploring all perspectives in a blogosphere! :)

The Krystol Method

Writings By Krystol

Darwinian Mystics: Book of the North

The mind is a powerful thing.

Fitness & health

Marina Vončina

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Bianca D. Spencer

Food for thought fiction

Jean Genie

Let yourself goooo!

Pankaj Giri

An author by chance

Thought trail

Trail of stories, poems, observations and more!

